>ALISSA TAKES INSTYLE MAGAZINE’S SHOP LIKE A FASHION EDITOR CHALLENGE

>

SHOP LIKE A FASHION EDITOR


Hey curvy girls all over the world,
Instyle magazine is doing a series with 3 of their staff members called, “Shop Like A Fashion Editor.” The three editors are given a budget of $400, $2,000, and $4,000 to spend over the course of four months. Each of the editors share their monthly fashion inspirations and buy items according to what they were inspired by. After reading the the March issue I became inspired by this series and have decided to make this a personal challenge and to document it right here on Stylish Curves.
This is the perfect time for me to do this because I’m still deciding on what I would like my spring wardrobe to look like. Every spring season I feel like I have no clothes. At the end of the season I can pack everything away in one medium size bin which always makes me wonder how I got through the season with such a small amount of clothes.

I will be taking on the $400 budget. The same budget that Instyle’s Market Editor Erin Sumwalt (pictured above) is doing. The $400 breaks down to only spending $100 a month on clothes, shoes, and accessories. I’m excited about the challenge because it will help me to only buy what I love and need. Most importantly, this challenge will help me to save some much needed cash.

How the challenge works
For the next four months, each time I purchase something I will post it here on Stylish Curves and keep a tally for each month. I’m relying on the honor system so you guys can trust that I will only spend $100 a month and if I go over you can count on me telling you, but, the point is to stick to the budget (pray for me!).

My personal spring fashion goals
I’m such a sucker for simple looks in bright colors that this spring season my goal is to wear more prints. Right now I’m obsessed with animal prints, but, I actually want to wear more florals. I am truly not a floral print fan, but, for some reason I’m liking the big bold floral prints. I feel like they are less dizzy looking (You can read about large floral prints in my previous post here).

Loved Vanessa Hudgen’s 70’s style spread in the March issue of Instyle

In case you didn’t know my favorite fashion era is the 70’s. I’m a sucker for jumpsuits, wide leg trousers, frilly sheer tops, and sky high heels. I’m hoping to incorporate some of that into my spring wardrobe too. I also would like to accessorize more. I want more cocktail rings, large shoulder skimming earrings, colorful belts, straw hats, and big bangles. My blazer section in my closet is looking kind of weak so before the heat hits I would like to add some new blazers to my wardrobe. Preferably one or three button blazers. I’m hoping to score a striped blazer like the one from Alice & Olivia.

A few more pics of my inspirations. Wide leg trousers are so 70’s and this bold floral print dress from Etro is nothing short of chic.

OK, I think that’s it. Here goes! Wish me luck!

Kicking off the challenge, today I was perusing the Walmart site and found this Norma Kamali animal print dress for $20. I love the silhouette and the draped neck. I also  like that the animal print is nice and big. A true statement piece. I could wear this with a blazer for work and wear it with a sexy pair of heels for dinner with my gentlemen caller.

What do you guys think about my first purchase?

**Please not that this is a personal challenge and I do not have any affiliations with Instyle magazine.

Leave a Reply

