>Gabourey Sidibe featured in February’s Harpers Bazaar, By: Alissa

>

Gabourey Sidibe in  Harpers Bazaar

Now that it’s award season we will be seeing celebrities from all of the top movies of 2009 grace the covers of numerous magazines as well as snagging feature stories. So don’t be surprised if you are on Precious overload. In the February issue of Harpers Bazaar Gabourey Sidibe snags a feature spot in this high fashion magazine.

When asked how does she stay so confident an evolved, the bubbly 26 year old tells Harpers Bazaar that:

“It came late, too late in my life,” she says. “Something like 21. I just know that I was tired. I was tired of thinking less of myself because others did.”

She adds:

“People always ask me, ‘You have so much confidence. Where did that come from?’ It came from me. One day I decided that I was beautiful, and so I carried out my life as if I was a beautiful girl. I wear colors that I really like, I wear makeup that makes me feel pretty, and it really helps. It doesn’t have anything to do with how the world perceives you. What matters is what you see. Your body is your temple, it’s your home, and,” she chuckles, “you must decorate it.”

 I said it before and I must say it again. When you embrace your body and all its flaws, you will lead a happier life. Make no mistake, Gabby is very aware that she is overweight, but, it doesn’t stop her from living her life and looking her best.

I look forward to being on Precious and Ms. Sidibe overload. We need to see a young woman like this who has such cofidence, I hope it will make us all become more at peace with ourselves.

Leave a Reply

